© 2019 movielover2424

Vignettes for Lolita (part 1)

Summer days:

A poet I am not

But perhaps I am a lover

(Well that’s not the right word either)

A cowardly frightened creature I am

But writing these may help me become one

for poetry is stitched to the lining of one’s heart

Your hair is shinning in the light right now

(No don’t turn away I like to admire art)

For every day of summer

I will designate a fine feature to study

It shall be my clandestine chamber to keep

And your intangible presence

connected with my delusion strings

– A prelude to my studies

Lo tingles in my hands

climbing up my limbs

Lola drenches my thoughts

Before dissolving lushly in between sticky perplexed matter

But Lolita embeds itself into the rusty recesses of my heart

Those hazy eyes preform hypnosis on my shaken gaze

Tender gangly limbs lightly speckled with goosebumps

(A brush dipped in a swirl of pink)

Under a single butterfly touch

Curling scarlet lips

Freshly parted like a pitted cantaloupe

How you tease and play

(I see your feigned purity now)

My sweet little harlot

Doing the jitter bug

On cheap hardwood floor

I would love it so if you taught me

Sun dresses

And sun kisses caress you

I envy them both you know

Always getting so close to you

While I scrutinize from over here

(Does that sound too melodramatic?)

Your softened peach fuzzed edges do bring out

The saccharine in me

Let me braid those honey drenched locks

While you figit on my lap

The rocking chair groaning under our weight

Sun splayed along those gold tinged thighs

Peeking beneath a checkered blue map

Reckless fingers slipping through magazines

While mine travel adoringly through your hair

The other one’s

(Beastly bulbous women)

Would never let me you know

Husks of grotesque nothings they are

(You wouldn’t braid a pigs tail would you?)

They’ve had the daisy fresh girl beaten out of them

But not you Lolita

Never you

Those pressing legs and twitching lips

Have serenaded their true purpose to me

(And I am an unbridled seeker of truth)

And I have responded in tentative kind

(Oh yes dear I am still a little shy)

Perhaps if you stay

(On my lap is good for now)

We can help each other break from those pesky shells

(The superficial boundaries I mean)

Don’t confuse that as a pretentious offer

A metaphor to grow up my dear angel darling

– 12 is peachier than 13

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 Comments

  1. alynav
    Posted May 4, 2019 at 11:02 pm | #

    Dearest Reegan,
    I loved this piece! Not only because I love poetry, but your voice & the way you pieced together each phrase really stood out and flowed & sounded beautiful. I love the way you had certain phrases in brackets, with a different perspective and different thoughts captured in that! My favourite line definitely was, “But Lolita embeds itself into the rusty recesses of my heart”, the way you phrased it was beautiful & hit me hard!

    For improvement all I can really say is possibly split the entire poem up into multiple stanza’s- this would help with the flow of the piece as well as easier for the reader to follow! This was only minor and my opinion but overall, it was a beautiful piece!

    Your writing never ceases to amaze me. I know you aren’t as confident in your poetry, but you definitely wrote an amazing piece here! Cannot wait to read more pieces!

    Love always,
    Alyna <3

    • movielover2424
      Posted May 5, 2019 at 4:18 am | #

      It means a lot that you enjoyed this poem so thank you.

      Reegan

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Skip to toolbar